Premier announces eight new directors general

Date: 30 August 2017

New directors general appointed to newly amalgamated departments

Part of Labor Government's commitment to driving cultural change across public sector

Premier Mark McGowan today welcomed the appointment of eight directors general to the newly amalgamated State Government departments.


The directors general will lead the new departments formed as a result of the McGowan Labor Government's major reforms of Western Australia's public sector, which reduced the number of government departments from 41 to 25.


Her Excellency, the Governor in Executive Council has this week approved the following appointments:

  • Mr Mark Webb PSM, Director General, Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions;
  • Mr Stephen Wood, Director General, Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation;
  • Dr Adam Tomison, Director General, Department of Justice;
  • Mr Duncan Ord OAM, Director General, Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries;
  • Mr David Smith, Director General, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety;
  • Ms Gail McGowan, Director General, Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage;
  • Mr Ralph Addis, Director General, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development; and
  • Mr Michael Rowe, Director General, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation. 

Comments attributed to Premier Mark McGowan:


"I congratulate the new directors general on their appointments and look forward to working with them to implement the McGowan Government's plans to get Western Australia back on track.


"The new directors general are a key component of our commitment to implement real change across the public sector, to make it more efficient and to deliver better services to Western Australians.


"Under their leadership, we will continue to implement our Machinery of Government changes and Service Priority Review to deliver cost savings across government and assist with the critical task of fixing the budget."


Directors general/chief executive officers for each department


AgencyNameTitleCurrent status 
Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and InnovationMr Stephen WoodDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and SafetyMr David SmithDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of Primary Industries and Regional DevelopmentMr Ralph AddisDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of CommunitiesMr Grahame SearleActing Director GeneralActing appointment
Department of JusticeDr Adam TomisonDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of Planning, Lands and HeritageMs Gail McGowanDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and AttractionsMr Mark Webb PSMDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural IndustriesMr Duncan Ord OAMDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of Water and Environmental RegulationMr Michael RoweDirector GeneralNew appointment
Department of EducationMs Sharyn O'NeillDirector GeneralContinuing appointment
Western Australia PoliceMr Chris Dawson APMCommissionerNew appointment outside MOG 2017
Department of FinanceMs Anne NolanDirector GeneralContinuing appointment
Department of the Premier and CabinetMr Darren FosterDirector GeneralNew appointment outside MOG 2017
Department of TreasuryMr Michael BarnesUnder TreasurerContinuing appointment
Department of Training and Workforce DevelopmentMs Anne DriscollActing Director GeneralContinuing appointment
Department of TransportMr Richard SellersDirector GeneralContinuing appointment
Department of Fire and Emergency ServicesMr Wayne Gregson APMCommissionerContinuing appointment
Department of HealthDr David Russell-WeiszDirector GeneralContinuing appointment
Mental Health CommissionMr Tim MarneyCommissionerContinuing appointment
Office of the Auditor GeneralMr Colin Murphy PSMActing Auditor GeneralContinuing appointment
Office of the Director of Public ProsecutionsMs Amanda Forrester SCDirectorContinuing appointment
Office of the Inspector of Custodial ServicesProfessor Neil MorganInspectorContinuing appointment
Public Sector CommissionMr Malcolm Wauchope AOCommissionerContinuing appointment

Western Australian Electoral Commission

Mr David KerslakeCommissionerContinuing appointment
Western Australian Industrial Relations CommissionMs Sue BastianRegistrarContinuing appointment


Premier's office - 6552 5000

New Security Competency Testing Program launched
This pre-license test has been designed to ensure that those seeking to gain employment as a Security Officer or Crowd Controller in WA can demonstrate the required knowledge and language skills.

DTWD launches new website
The Department of Training and Workforce Development has launched a new website to assist business.

Awards program puts training sector in the spotlight
14 February 2018
WA Training Awards applications now open for 2018
The program recognises hard work of trainees as well as trainers, organisations & employers

Report on VET Delivered in Schools in WA released
23 January 2018
A "Snapshot of VET Delivered in Schools 2017" has been produced by the Financial, Administrative and Professional Services Training Council.

Changes to payroll tax exemption for trainees announced
01 December 2017
Payroll tax exemption for traineeships to be limited to new employees saving about $100 million over the forward estimates

New course to skill next generation of female agricultural leaders
21 November 2017
The course covers biosecurity, technology, animal welfare, and business innovation, and is aimed at boosting participation of women in agriculture

New specialist training facility in Munster has extra edge
17 November 2017
New facilities to help students develop the skills required by oil and gas, chemical processing, engineering and resources industries

Subscribe to our newsletter

Please enter your email address:

Current full issue: January 2018
Previous issues: Newsletter Archive